Spocks Beard

Booking Agent

Jörg Düsedau

All regions


Spock’s Beard is a progressive rock band formed in 1993 in Los Angeles by brothers Neal and Alan Morse. Neal (keyboards/vocals) and Alan (guitars) were joined by fellow musicians Nick D’Virgilio (drums), Dave Meros (bass), and keyboardist Ryo Okumoto.
The Beard play a brand of progressive rock which draws on multiple influences ranging from classical, pop, rock, jazz and jazz fusion, and R & B. One can hear the influences of many groups, including Genesis, Yes and the Beatles, yet their sound is original and fresh. They are also well known for their intricate multi-part vocal harmonies and use of counterpoint much in the vein of Gentle Giant.
Spock’s Beard has released ten studio CDs to date, including the acclaimed “The Kindness Of Strangers” and “V’, before releasing the epic concept album “Snow” in 2002, which also marked the departure of leader and main composer Neal Morse for a solo career as a Christian artist.
After the departure of Neal Morse, the frontman role was taken on by Nick D’Virgilio. This lineup of Spock’s Beard released four more studio albums: “Feel Euphoria’, “Octane’, “Spock’s Beard’, all on InsideOut Music and “X’, released on Mascot Records.
During this period Nick played drums for the studio sessions and Jimmy Keegan (Santana, John Waite) was brought in as tour drummer while Nick fronted the band. Both drummers performed with drum sets on stage, and the unique combination allowed them to both spell one another as well as create opportunities for wonderful duet performances.
In November of 2011 Nick left the group because his of his ongoing commitment to Cirque du Soleil.
Ted Leonard (Enchant, Thought Chamber) was brought in as lead vocalist and guitarist, and Jimmy Keegan assumed the duties of primary drummer, for both studio and touring.
This new lineup recorded the album Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep in March of 2013, and is considered by many as one of the band’s best works.
With a touring schedule that has covered much of Europe and the US over the years, they have played to their legions of fans at major prog festivals around the world. Their live shows have been well documented on DVDs and live CDs such as 2005’s “Gluttons For Punishment”, “Spock’s Beard Live” recorded in Holland in 2008 and “The X Tour Live” in April of 2012 and “Live At Sea”, filmed while on the Progressive Nation At Sea tour in 2014.
A new album, The Oblivion Particle, is scheduled to be released at the end of August, 2015 on InsideOut Music.

Top Tracks

Latest Videos


Tour Dates

No shows booked at the moment.